DFES - Department of Fire and Emergency Services
000 for fire or life threatening emergencies
132 500 for SES emergency assistance
13 DFES (13 3337) for emergency information
General enquiries | Hearing or speech impaired contacts
SHARE: Refer this page to a friend

Media Release

2011 Firefighting Awards finalists announced
Monday 12 September 2011 – 10:00 AM
Volunteer and career firefighters from across Western Australia have been recognised for their hard work and dedication with the announcement of the 2011 Firefighting Awards finalists.

Eleven finalists who have gone above and beyond the call of duty have been nominated by their peers and members of the WA community.

FESA Chief Operations Officer Craig Hynes said finalists and all nominees should be very proud of their efforts.
“These people have been recognised in their local communities for their outstanding efforts in making a difference,” Mr Hynes said.
“The Firefighting Awards not only acknowledge the hard work and commitment of these finalists, but are a great opportunity to celebrate and acknowledge the work of all firefighters in Western Australia.
“Last financial year, over 28,000 career and volunteer firefighters responded to more than 28,380 incidents,” Mr Hynes said.
“These everyday men and women go out to protect us and our homes from danger and reduce the risk to the WA community,” Mr Hynes said.

Nominees were judged on criteria which included devotion to duty, kindness, understanding, compassion and courage in the line of duty.

Other criteria included whether the candidate had contributed to the efficiency and growth of firefighting, their achievement in community education or community based fire prevention programs; and any involvement in the development or implementation of a new idea or initiative.
The awards will be presented later this month.
Career Fire and Rescue Award:
Andrew Hinton – South Metropolitan Region
Jason Welsh – Perth Fire and Rescue Service
Volunteer Fire and Rescue award:
Andrew Munro – Rockingham Volunteer Fire and Rescue Service
Phil Van Der Merwe – Merredin Volunteer Fire and Rescue Service
Roleystone Volunteer Fire and Rescue Service
Murray Lang Bush Fire Service Award:
Graham Rickerby – Gibson Bush Fire Brigade
Steve Thomas – Preston Beach Bush Fire Brigade
Darryle Wilson – Yarloop Bush Fire Brigade
Roleystone Bush Fire Brigade
Youth Achievement award:
Duncan Reynolds – Kalamunda Volunteer Bush Fire Brigade
Cody Woolhouse – Mt Barker Volunteer Fire and Rescue Service
Media Contact: Media and Public Affairs, 9225 5955.

 Your feedback on this content is appreciated

Was this information useful?