DFES - Department of Fire and Emergency Services
000 for fire or life threatening emergencies
132 500 for SES emergency assistance
13 DFES (13 3337) for emergency information
General enquiries | Hearing or speech impaired contacts
SHARE: Refer this page to a friend

Media Release

Outstanding volunteers announced for upcoming SES Awards
Thursday 20 October 2011 – 10:00 AM
Outstanding volunteers announced for upcoming SES Awards
Nine FESA State Emergency Service (SES) volunteers have been named as finalists in this year’s SES Awards.
FESA Assistant Chief Operations Officer Gary Gifford said the finalists had each shown their commitment and dedication to the community and it is wonderful to see them recognised for their valuable work.
“It was not an easy task to select only nine finalists from the outstanding nominations we received,” Mr Gifford said.
“These awards give us the opportunity to acknowledge those volunteers who have gone above and beyond the call of duty.
“It is also an opportunity to thank all of our SES volunteers who continue to commit countless hours to keeping communities safe.
“This year almost 2,000 SES volunteers have given their personal time and efforts to respond to over 560 incidents across Western Australia.
“Volunteers right across the state have rescued people from road crashes, helped those isolated during flooding, led the clean-up effort following a cyclone and have provided temporary repairs following storms.
“SES Volunteers work tirelessly throughout the whole year with storms affecting the winter months and floods, cyclones and bushfires affecting the warmer months.
“Their efforts are extraordinary and I offer my congratulations, not only to the award finalists, but to every SES volunteer across the state.
The SES Awards are presented in three categories.
The Peter Keillor Award, named after a former Murray SES volunteer, is awarded to a volunteer who has gone beyond the call of duty in demonstrating a high level of dedication and commitment to the SES.
The collective work of a team or unit is recognised with the Team Achievement Award.
Volunteers aged 16 to 25 years who have made a valuable contribution to their unit are recognised with the Youth Achievement Award.
Nominees were judged on their dedication to duty, involvement in development or implementation of programs, contribution to the service and excellence in preparedness, response and safety at an incident.
The awards will be presented at a formal ceremony later this month.
2011 State Emergency Service Awards Finalists:
Peter Keillor Award
• Ken Dewhirst, Wanneroo/Joondalup SES Unit
• Ean “Eno” Gruszecki, Northshore SES Unit
• Jim MacLean, Northshore SES Unit
Team Achievement Award
• Bayswater Logistics Response Team
• Carnarvon SES Unit
• Kalbarri SES Unit
Youth Achievement Award
• Jemma Groen, Northshore SES Unit
• Nathan Herholdt, Karratha SES Unit
• Andrew Treen, Melville SES Unit
Media Contact: Media and Public Affairs, 9225 5955.



 Your feedback on this content is appreciated

Was this information useful?