DFES - Department of Fire and Emergency Services
000 for fire or life threatening emergencies
132 500 for SES emergency assistance
13 DFES (13 3337) for emergency information
General enquiries | Hearing or speech impaired contacts
SHARE: Refer this page to a friend

Media Release

Help celebrate Western Australians building disaster resilience
Friday 11 May 2012 – 11:00 AM
If you know of a local business, community group or an individual who is working to make your community safer, stronger or more resilient now is the time to celebrate their achievements.
Nominations are open for the 2012 Resilient Australia Awards that recognise best practice and innovation across Australia in helping communities to prepare for and recover from emergencies.
FESA Chief Executive Officer Mr Wayne Gregson APM said the Resilient Australia Awards were an opportunity to recognise practices making our communities safer.
“There are many innovative projects aimed at strengthening the resilience of our communities in Western Australian, and it is important that we acknowledge this vital work,” Mr Gregson said.
“Any achievement in building disaster resilience, whether it be an everyday individual achievement or a large scale initiative, could be worthy of an award.
“It’s important to highlight initiatives that allow us to share knowledge and learn so that we can continue to build even stronger communities into the future.”
Mr Gregson said from the nominations received, finalists were selected for the state awards with the winners going on to become national finalists.
“These awards are a chance for individuals, groups and organisations to gain recognition for their work in building disaster resilience in Western Australia,” he said.
“They reward outstanding achievement across seven categories, based on the type of organisation applying, and cover all aspects of making our communities more resilient and better prepared to manage any emergency situation.”
The Resilient Australia Awards, formerly the Safer Community Awards, are sponsored by the Commonwealth Attorney-General’s Department and coordinated in WA by FESA.
The awards cover all aspects of community safety with an emergency management focus, including risk assessment, research, education and training, information and knowledge management, prevention, preparedness, response and recovery.
Entries must relate to projects that commenced after 1 January 2010. Entries close Friday 8 June.
For more information on the awards visit www.fesa.wa.gov.au or call the WA Awards Coordinator on 9323 9399.  

 Your feedback on this content is appreciated

Was this information useful?