DFES - Department of Fire and Emergency Services
000 for fire or life threatening emergencies
132 500 for SES emergency assistance
13 DFES (13 3337) for emergency information
General enquiries | Hearing or speech impaired contacts
SHARE: Refer this page to a friend

Media Release

Awards to recognise projects that build resilience
Tuesday 5 June 2012 – 9:45 AM

Projects that are making local communities more resilient are being encouraged to nominate their innovative practices and achievements for the 2012 Resilient Australia Awards.

With nominations closing on 8 June, time is running out to get your nomination in and ensure your project is recognised for its critical work in community safety.

FESA Chief Executive Officer Mr Wayne Gregson APM said the awards recognise those who have helped build better prepared communities across Australia.
“Western Australia faces a range of emergencies every year caused by disasters such as floods, cyclones, bushfires and storms all of which have significant impacts on communities,” Mr Gregson said.
“This is why ensuring communities are well prepared to deal with these emergencies and recover quickly is vitally important.
“The awards highlight the worthwhile projects where community groups, government and the private sector have worked to improve the resilience of our communities.”
Throughout WA there are a number of government agencies, education and training bodies, businesses and volunteer community organisations undertaking projects that strengthen community self-reliance.
“In past years award submissions from WA have been diverse and innovative, and we encourage anyone with appropriate projects to nominate for the 2012 awards,” Mr Gregson said.
The Resilient Australia Awards, formerly the Safer Community Awards, are sponsored by the Commonwealth Attorney-General's Department and coordinated in WA by FESA.
The awards cover all aspects of building disaster resilience including risk assessment, research, education and training, information and knowledge management, prevention, preparedness, response and recovery.
Entries must relate to projects that commenced after 1 January 2010 or relate to existing projects with demonstrated significant enhancements since 1 January 2010.
For more information on the awards visit www.fesa.wa.gov.au or call the WA Awards Coordinator on 9323 9399.

 Your feedback on this content is appreciated

Was this information useful?