DFES - Department of Fire and Emergency Services
000 for fire or life threatening emergencies
132 500 for SES emergency assistance
13 DFES (13 3337) for emergency information
General enquiries | Hearing or speech impaired contacts
SHARE: Refer this page to a friend

Media Release

Extraordinary firefighters announced as finalists
Tuesday 4 September 2012 – 9:00 AM

Twelve FESA volunteer and career firefighters and brigades have been named as finalists in this year’s Firefighting awards.

FESA Chief Operations Officer Lloyd Bailey said the awards provide an opportunity to recognise the exceptional achievements, hard work and dedication of our firefighters over the past 12 months.
“Our firefighters face huge challenges each and every time they are called out to respond to an emergency,” Mr Bailey said.
“Recognition is important to ensure volunteers and career personnel right across the state are commended for the tremendous job they have done in helping to protect local WA communities.
“It was not an easy task to separate these finalists out from the outstanding field of nominations received.
“It is also an opportunity to thank all of our firefighters who continue to commit countless hours both training and battling bushfires in real life, often dangerous, situations.
“Their efforts are extraordinary and I offer my congratulations, not only to the award finalists, but to the more than 27,000 career and volunteer firefighters across the state,” Mr Bailey said.
The Firefighting Awards are presented in four categories.
The Career Fire and Rescue Service of Western Australia Award, is presented to an individual career firefighter who has gone above and beyond the call of duty.
The Volunteer Fire and Rescue Service Award celebrates the achievements of volunteer Fire and Rescue Service firefighters.
The Murray Lang Bush Fire Service of Western Australia Award is named after Murray Lang in deference to his more than 50 year commitment and tireless work with the Bush Fire Service and is awarded to an outstanding Bush Fire Service individual or brigade.
Volunteers aged 16 to 25 years are recognised with the Youth Achievement Award.
Nominees were judged on their devotion to duty beyond normal expectations, kindness, compassion or courage in the line of duty, contribution beyond normal expectations or achievement in community education.
The awards will be presented at a formal ceremony in November.
2012 Firefighting Awards Finalists:
Career Fire and Rescue Service of Western Australia Award
·         Douglas Spear, Daglish Fire Station
·         Geoffrey O’Day, Osborne Park Fire Station
Volunteer Fire and Rescue Service of Western Australia Award
·         Christopher and Maxine O'Connell, Tom Price
·         Margaret River Volunteer Fire and Rescue Service Brigades, Margaret River
·         Pannawonica Volunteer Fire and Rescue Service Brigade, Pannawonica
Murray Lang Bush Fire Service of Western Australia Award
·         City of Greater Geraldton Bush Fire Brigades, Geraldton
·         Grass Valley Bush Fire Brigade, Grass Valley
·         Peter Summers, Dongara, Irwin North and Irwin South Bush Fire Service
·         Shire of Augusta Margaret River Bush Fire Brigades, Augusta Margaret  River
Youth Achievement Award
·         Joshua Lourenco, Bassendean Volunteer Fire and Rescue Service
·         Nathan Ramage, South Coogee Bush Fire Brigade

 Your feedback on this content is appreciated

Was this information useful?