DFES - Department of Fire and Emergency Services
000 for fire or life threatening emergencies
132 500 for SES emergency assistance
13 DFES (13 3337) for emergency information
General enquiries | Hearing or speech impaired contacts
SHARE: Refer this page to a friend

Media Release

Call to nominate programs that build resilience to disasters
Thursday 20 June 2013 – 8:00 AM
Each year hundreds of people go above and beyond to make communities more resilient for emergencies, and now is the time to recognise their outstanding work. 
The Resilient Australia Awards acknowledge best practice and innovation across Australia in helping communities prepare for and recover from emergencies.
Fire and Emergency Services Commissioner Wayne Gregson said the awards were more than just an opportunity to recognise innovative projects.
“The Resilient Australia Awards not only recognise and promote the tremendous work individuals, groups and organisations are doing, they also allow best practice to be shared across communities,” Commissioner Gregson said.
“We all have a part to play in how we respond to and recover from disasters, and these awards recognise the work that individual communities are doing in both regional and metropolitan communities to ensure they are better prepared.”
“Any achievement in building disaster resilience could be worthy of nomination so I urge you to nominate programs you are aware of in your local communities.”
The Resilient Australia Awards are sponsored by the Commonwealth Attorney-General’s Department and coordinated in Western Australia by the Department of Fire and Emergency Services (DFES).
The Awards highlight outstanding achievement across seven categories, based on the type of organisation applying, and cover all aspects of building disaster resilience.
Nominations can be made for individuals, groups and organisations, and finalists are selected for the State Awards with the winners going on to become national finalists.
Nominations close on Friday 5 July 2013 and entries must relate to projects that commenced after 1 January 2011.
Visit www.dfes.wa.gov.au for more information on the awards or call the WA Resilient Australia Awards Coordinator on 9395 9842.
Media Contact: Media and Public Affairs on 9225 5955.


 Your feedback on this content is appreciated

Was this information useful?