DFES - Department of Fire and Emergency Services
000 for fire or life threatening emergencies
132 500 for SES emergency assistance
13 DFES (13 3337) for emergency information
General enquiries | Hearing or speech impaired contacts
SHARE: Refer this page to a friend

Media Release

Cream of the crop announced as SES award finalists
Thursday 1 August 2013 – 8:00 AM
Going above and beyond the call of duty has seen DFES State Emergency Service (SES) volunteers from seven units named as finalists in the 2013 SES Awards.
Fire and Emergency Services Commissioner Wayne Gregson said the annual awards were an opportunity to recognise the valuable work of the State’s almost 2,000 SES volunteers.
“SES volunteers work tirelessly throughout the whole year with storms in the winter months, and floods, cyclones and bushfires occurring during the warmer months,” Commissioner Gregson said.
“The awards give us the opportunity to pause and reflect on the role SES volunteers play in serving the community, and acknowledge the actions of those who have excelled in their field.”
Commissioner Gregson said finalists this year had been recognised for their work in a range of incidents including tropical cyclones Vance, Yasi and Rusty, the June 2012 storms across Perth and southern parts of WA, and an extensive land search at Fitzroy Crossing.
“Selecting the award finalists from such a worthy group of nominations was again a challenge, but those named this year demonstrated an outstanding commitment and dedication to their community.
“Whether they were helping those in their local suburbs, other areas of Western Australia or deployed to assist interstate, these individuals have provided an exceptional service and should be congratulated for their effort.”
The awards will be presented at a formal ceremony in September.
2013 State Emergency Service Awards Finalists:
Peter Keillor Award
• Martin Hale, Bayswater SES Unit
• May Bowser, Cockburn SES Unit
• Phillip Bresser, Mandurah SES Unit
Team Achievement Award
• Karratha SES Unit
• Bayswater SES Unit Bike Team
• Northshore SES Unit
Youth Achievement Award
• Melusha Robson, Communications Support Unit
• Sarah Hamilton, Belmont SES Unit
Media Contact: Media and Public Affairs on 9225 5955.


 Your feedback on this content is appreciated

Was this information useful?