DFES - Department of Fire and Emergency Services
000 for fire or life threatening emergencies
132 500 for SES emergency assistance
13 DFES (13 3337) for emergency information
General enquiries | Hearing or speech impaired contacts
SHARE: Refer this page to a friend

Media Release

Top notch finalists selected for annual SES awards
Monday 21 July 2014 – 1:00 PM

​The 2014 State Emergency Service (SES) award finalists have been announced and the nominees highlight the outstanding contribution volunteers make to the community.

Fire and Emergency Services Commissioner Wayne Gregson congratulated the nine finalists and acknowledged the outstanding commitment of SES volunteers who are on standby 24/7 to assist the community.

“This year’s finalists have been selected for going above and beyond the call of duty, demonstrating a high level of dedication to the service,” Commissioner Gregson said.

“Whilst we recognise these outstanding nominees, we also reflect on the commitment and sacrifice of over 2000 SES volunteers throughout the year.”

“The SES responded to over 500 incidents across the State in 2013-14, including assisting with the high profile air search for missing flight MH 370.”

The finalists represent a diverse range of SES units, showcasing the varied role the SES plays in the local community, from responding to storms in the metropolitan area to cliff rescues in the Pilbara.

This year a record number of nominations were received for the prestigious individual Peter Keillor award.

“The high number of nominees reflects the outstanding calibre of volunteers across the SES, with this once again being a tough year to select finalists,” Commissioner Gregson said.

The 2014 SES Awards winners will be announced on Saturday 4 October 2014 at the Western Australian Fire and Emergency Services Conference.

The finalists are listed below.

2014 State Emergency Service Awards finalists

Peter Keillor Award
• Steve Cable, Kalbarri SES Unit
• Jane Campbell, Bayswater SES unit
• Nick Elliott, Northshore SES Unit

Team Achievement Award
• Kalbarri SES Unit
• Karratha and Roebourne SES Units
• Tom Price and Newman SES Units

Youth Achievement Award
• Rhys Cole, Melville SES Unit
• Michael Hall, Exmouth SES Unit
• Meggan Miller, Mandurah SES Unit

For more information about the SES Awards visit www.dfes.wa.gov.au/awards


Media Contact: DFES Media and Corporate Communications 9225 5955

 Your feedback on this content is appreciated

Was this information useful?