DFES - Department of Fire and Emergency Services
000 for fire or life threatening emergencies
132 500 for SES emergency assistance
13 DFES (13 3337) for emergency information
General enquiries | Hearing or speech impaired contacts
SHARE: Refer this page to a friend

Media Release

Outstanding firefighters recognised in esteemed awards
Friday 25 July 2014 – 8:45 AM

​Firefighters who have excelled in their service to the community over the past year have been named as finalists in the prestigious Department of Fire and Emergency Services Western Australian Firefighting Awards.

Fire and Emergency Services Commissioner Wayne Gregson said all career and volunteer firefighters provided an invaluable contribution, but this year’s sixteen awards finalists have excelled in their roles.

“Firefighters come to the aid of the community in a wide range of emergencies, including bushfire, structure fire and road crashes, as well as undertake vital community preparedness and resilience work,” Commissioner Gregson said.

“Although all firefighters are to be commended for their ongoing contribution to fire and emergency services, the individuals who have been selected as finalists have proven they are willing to go the extra mile for their community.

“These awards are an opportunity for us to recognise and acknowledge WA firefighters across all services for their exceptional achievements, hard work and dedication.”

The winners will be announced on Saturday 4 October 2014 at the Western Australian Fire and Emergency Services Conference.

The finalists are listed below.

2014 Firefighting Awards Finalists are:

Career Fire and Rescue Service Award
• Garth Civil – Perth Fire Station  (D Platoon)
• Simon Harrison – Perth Fire Station (C Platoon)
• Ian Hemphill – Butler Fire Station (D Platoon)

Murray Lang Bush Fire Service Award
• Shirley Oliver – Baldivis BFB
• Gordon Temby – Wallcliffe BFB
• Matthew Thompson – Boddington BFB

Volunteer Emergency and Fire Services Award
• Stephen Bandy – MAPS WA VES Unit (Outstanding Member)
• Adrian Goh – Bullsbrook VFS Brigade (Outstanding Member)
• Kenn McLeod – Fitzroy Cross VES Unit (Excellence)

Volunteer Fire and Rescue Service Award
• Stephen Manning – Cue VFRS
• Bruce Watts – Exmouth VFRS
• Ron Winstone – Geraldton VFRS

Youth Achievement Award
• Kellie Bullen – Broome VFRS
• Joshua Heath – Bullsbrook VFS
• Matthew Holland – Witchcliffe BFB/VFRS
• Mitchell Reid – Three Springs BFB

For more information about the Firefighting Awards, visit www.dfes.wa.gov.au/awards.


Media Contact: Media and Corporate Communications on 9225 5955.


 Your feedback on this content is appreciated

Was this information useful?