DFES - Department of Fire and Emergency Services
000 for fire or life threatening emergencies
132 500 for SES emergency assistance
13 DFES (13 3337) for emergency information
General enquiries | Hearing or speech impaired contacts
SHARE: Refer this page to a friend

Media Release

WA Firefighting Awards finalists take commitment to a new level
Monday 6 July 2015 – 2:00 PM

​The outstanding efforts of 13 career and volunteer firefighters have been recognised with the announcement of finalists for the prestigious Western Australian Firefighting Awards.

The 2015 finalists were nominated for a variety of reasons, including putting aside their own needs to help the community prepare and respond to Tropical Cyclone Olwyn which impacted the Midwest Gascoyne in March 2015, developing the Urban Search and Rescue (USAR) Canine Training program and leading brigades that travelled thousands of kilometres across the State to fight bushfires. 

The awards honour the achievements of fire and emergency services personnel who have excelled in their service to the community.  

Fire and Emergency Services Commissioner Wayne Gregson said while all firefighters possess a strong work ethic and a willingness to serve the community, the finalists announced today have taken that commitment to a new level.

These finalists have all shown a dedication to duty beyond expectation and have made significant personal contributions to firefighting and emergency response efforts in our State,” Commissioner Gregson said. 

“The awards are a way of acknowledging and thanking these outstanding men and women for their tremendous individual efforts to help keep Western Australians safe.”

The winners will be announced on Sunday 20 September at the Firefighting Awards Ceremony during the Western Australian Fire and Emergency Services Conference.

The 2015 Firefighting Awards finalists are:

Career Fire and Rescue Service Award:

Adam Bannister – District Officer Stirling 

Martin Cable – Kalgoorlie Fire Station

Serena Monks – Rockingham Fire Station

Murray Lang Bush Fire Service Award:

Michael Cave – Narpyn Volunteer Bush Fire Brigade (VBFB)

Sean Corbin – East Gidgegannup VBFB

Terri Kowal – Bunbury VBFB

Volunteer Fire and Emergency Services Award:

Fraser McGregor and Sandra Lymbery – Coral Bay Volunteer Emergency Service (VES)

Volunteer Fire and Rescue Service Award:

Eru and Tracy Hepi – Derby Volunteer Fire and Rescue Service (VFRS)

Deidre Marchese – Kambalda VFRS

Paul Williamson – Albany VFRS

Youth Achievement Award:

Nathan Garrington – East Swan VBFB

Matt Holland – Witchcliffe VFRS

Sarah Williamson – Carnarvon VFRS

For more information about the 2015 Firefighting Awards, visit www.dfes.wa.gov.au/awards.


Media Contact: DFES Media and Corporate Communications 9225 5955


 Your feedback on this content is appreciated

Was this information useful?