DFES - Department of Fire and Emergency Services
000 for fire or life threatening emergencies
132 500 for SES emergency assistance
13 DFES (13 3337) for emergency information
General enquiries | Hearing or speech impaired contacts
SHARE: Refer this page to a friend

Resilient Australia Awards

2020 WA Resilient Australia Awards

The Resilient Australia Awards is a nation-wide program to recognise and promote initiatives that strengthen community disaster resilience. The awards this year celebrated 21 years of highlighting initiatives that build resilience and inspire others to act – making communities safer, more connected and better prepared for disasters and emergencies.

The Australian Government sponsors the Resilient Australia Awards in partnership with the Australian Institute for Disaster Resilience as well as the states and territories. The Department of Fire and Emergency Services (DFES) is the Western Australian awards convener on behalf of the Minister for Emergency Services.

The Resilient Australia Awards are a yearly offering with applications for the 2021 program due to open in February 2021. For details, information, guidelines and to view the National Resilient Australia winners awarded on the 4th December visit www.aidr.org.au/raa
Nine State awards were presented by the Minister for Emergency Services Hon Francis Logan MLA:

2020 Recipients:

Community Award

  • State Winner and National Finalist: Clinton Edwards, PetResQ.
  • State Highly Commended: Nikki Woods, The Driveway Project.

Local Government Award

  • State Winner and National Finalist: Shire of Bruce Rock, Bruce Rock’s Community Supermarket
  • State Highly Commended: Shire of Denmark, Holistic Community Resilience building for Bushfire

Government Award

  • State Winner and National Finalist: Roleystone Volunteer Fire Brigade, Roleystone Bushfire Preparedness
  • State Highly Commended: Department of Fire and Emergency Services, Remote Aboriginal Community Fire and Emergency Services Program
​​​School Award

  • State Winner and National Finalist: Augusta Primary School, Year 6 Exploring Augusta’s Emergency Services

Photography Award (People’s Choice)

  • State and National Finalist: Nikki Woods, The Todd Family – The Driveway Project
  • State Highly Commended: Morten Boe, As Night Falls.

 Feedback Collection

Was this information useful?