DFES - Department of Fire and Emergency Services
000 for fire or life threatening emergencies
132 500 for SES emergency assistance
13 DFES (13 3337) for emergency information
General enquiries | Hearing or speech impaired contacts
SHARE: Refer this page to a friend

Marine Rescue Western Australia Awards

2020 Volunteer Marine Rescue Service Awards Finalists have been announced

Marine Rescue WA protects over 13,000 kilometres of coastline with just 1,700 committed volunteers. The Marine Rescue Awards are our way of celebrating the outstanding efforts of our volunteers who have shown a high level of dedication to Marine Rescue and the WA community.

Congratulations to all the nominees who have been shortlisted as finalists:

Award for Youth Achievement or Contribution to Youth Development  

  • Thomas Knight, Marine Rescue Port Walcott
  • Cameron Hegedus, Marine Rescue Mandurah
  • Marine Rescue Jurien Bay

Award for Outstanding Group Operations  

  • Marine Rescue Coral Bay and Marine Rescue Exmouth
  • Marine Rescue Port Hedland
  • Marine Rescue Geraldton

Award for Outstanding Individual Achievement

  • Michael (Rusty) Ellis, Marine Rescue Exmouth
  • Graham Martin, Marine Rescue Rockingham
  • George Simmons, Marine Rescue Exmouth


2020 Fire and Emergency Services Awards Gala Dinner

The WA Fire and Emergency Service Awards gala dinner will bring together all of our services to showcase outstanding individuals and teams. Awards presented will include Marine Rescue, State Emergency Service, Firefighting awards and DFES awards.

Date: Saturday 17 October 2020
Time: 6.30pm – 7.00pm Pre Dinner Drinks
7.30pm – 11:30pm Awards Gala Dinner
Venue:   Crown Ballroom, Crown Perth, Gt Eastern Highway, Burswood
Dress: Semi-formal with miniature medals


Registrations to the Gala Dinner are essential. Please visit the conference website www.wafesconference.com.au to confirm your attendance.

For more information email eventsandawards@dfes.wa.gov.au


Previous Award Recipients

DFES Award for Youth Achievement or Contribution to Youth Development (cadets and volunteers 13-25 years)
Nikki Russell, Cockburn VMRS (2019)
No recipient in 2018
Jamie Jones, Geraldton Volunteer Search and Rescue (2017)
Ryan Godfrey, Busselton Volunteer Marine Rescue Group (2016)
Adam Farmer, Cadet Mandurah Water Rescue Group (2015)

DFES Award for Outstanding Individual Contribution
Zac Slaughter, Port Hedland Volunteer Marine Rescue (2019)
Jeff Howe ESM, Volunteer Marine Rescue WA (2018)
Christine Heu, Jurien Bay Volunteer Marine Rescue (2017)
Barb Walton, Mandurah Volunteer Marine Rescue (2016) Alex Williams, Walpole Volunteer Marine Rescue Group (2015)

VMRWA Award for Outstanding Group Operations
Shark Bay Volunteer Marine Rescue (2019)
Fremantle Volunteer Sea Rescue Group (2018)
Coral Bay Volunteer Sea Search and Rescue (2017)
Port Walcott Sea Search and Rescue (2016)
Albany Sea Rescue Squad (2015) ​​​​​

VMRWA Commander’s Award
Esperance Volunteer Marine Rescue (2019)
Volunteer Marine Rescue Training Group (2018)
Ian Stiles, Jurien Bay Volunteer Marine Rescue (2017)
Lancelin Volunteer Marine Rescue (2016)

Department of Transport Award for Excellence in Marine Safety
Geraldton Volunteer Marine Rescue (2019)
Port Hedland Volunteer Sea Search and Rescue Group (2018)
Cockburn Volunteer Sea Search and Rescue Group (2017)
Walpole Volunteer Marine Rescue Group (2016)


 Your feedback on this content is appreciated

Was this information useful?