DFES is committed to acknowledging the contribution of its employees and volunteers by recognising and rewarding any member for acts of exceptional, exemplary or long service.

This recognition extends to acknowledging the important role that employers and self-employed volunteers play in the delivery of emergency services across WA.

You will find information here on the awards DFES bestows, past recipients and what awards you can nominate someone for.

WAFES Awards

The WA Fire and Emergency Services (WAFES) Awards are an opportunity to acknowledge the outstanding achievements of DFES volunteer and career personnel throughout WA.

Please visit the WAFES Awards section for more information, including how to nominate a worthy emergency services member.

Find out more

Australian Honours and Awards

DFES accepts nominations for the Australia Fire Service Medal and Emergency Services Medal at any time.

The Australian Honours and Awards system recognises the outstanding service and contributions of Australians. It celebrates and says ‘thank you’ to those who make a difference, those who achieve their best and those who serve others.

Australian Honours and Awards are unique in that they were designed for the community to make nominations. The system is free of patronage, and anyone can nominate an Australian citizen for an honour.

Image credit: Michael Bain
Awards for DFES staff and volunteers
Award announcements
Past Australian Honours and Awards recipients

Volunteer Employer Recognition Awards

Nominations for the 2022 VERA program are now closed.

Now is the time to recognise and celebrate those employers who provide ongoing support to emergency services volunteers. In WA, more than 95% of emergency services personnel are volunteers. This is made possible with encouraging employers and flexible workplaces, which enable emergency services volunteers to take time off work to attend incidents and undertake vital training.

More information
Key dates
Past winners
Terms and conditions

Resilient Australia Awards

Submissions for the 2022 Resilient Australia Awards have now closed.

The Resilient Australia Awards celebrate and promote initiatives that build whole of community resilience to disasters and emergencies around Australia, as well as images capturing resilience in action. They also recognise collaboration and innovative thinking across all sectors.

Past winners

Youth Programs Awards

Nominations for the 2021 Youth Programs Awards have now closed.

The Emergency Services Cadet Corp (ESCC) Awards have been presented since 2005, to celebrate the achievements of units, cadets, instructors and brigades, groups and units (BGU) and their outstanding contribution to the emergency services.

In 2021 the awards were renamed as the DFES Youth Programs Awards to include awards recognising cadets and units in the Youth in Emergency Services (YES) and BGU cadet programs, as well as the ESCC.

Past winners